Where are the
Black Designers?

Designing and Organizing for Black Liberation
June 26 & 27, 2021
Register
Colorful illustration of Black femme astronaut

Join us for the second annual Where are the Black Designers? conference - a FREE and accessible virtual design conference spanning two days.

We will be featuring 30+ voices on topics such as creating spaces, imagining Black futures, believing In Black stories, violent vs. non-violent allyship, and much more.
This event will be interpreted live in American Sign Language.
Sat – 6/26
Saturday – June 26, 2021
Sun – 6/27
Sunday – June 27, 2021
9:00 AM PDT
 / 
12:00 PM EDT
The Evolution of the Black Design Experience Through the Past, Present, and into the Future
Moderator
Shawn Harris
Headshot of Dr. Cheryl D. Miller
Dr. Cheryl D Miller
Headshot of Emory Douglas
Emory Douglas
9:30 AM PDT
 / 
12:30 PM EDT
Navigating Different Design Professions and Levels as a Black Designer
Moderator
Omari Souza
Kevin Bethune
Timothy Bardlavens
Headshot of Zariah Cameron
Zariah Cameron
Raja Schaar
Headshot of Gabrielle Smith
Gabrielle Smith
10:30 AM PDT
 / 
1:30 PM EDT
Violent vs. Non-violent Allyship
Headshot of Ritesh Gupta
Moderator
Ritesh Gupta
Shabnam Kashani
Headshot of Jessica Oddi
Jessica Oddi
Headshot of Aaron Draplin
Aaron Draplin
Headshot of Juan Villanueva
Juan Villanueva
Heather Lee Nguyen
11:35 AM PDT
 / 
2:35 PM EDT
Breathing Room
Sola Biu
Jason Mamaril
12:05 PM PDT
 / 
3:05 PM EDT
AFROTECTOPIA
Headshot of Ari Melenciano
Ari Melenciano
12:35 PM PDT
 / 
3:35 PM EDT
Believing in and Perpetuating Black Stories and Black Narratives
Headshot of Mitzi Okou
Moderator
Mitzi Okou
Temi Coker
Julia Bond
Angelica McKinley
Quincy Thomas
Schessa Garbutt
9:00 AM PDT
 / 
12:00 PM EDT
Opening Keynote
Maurice Cherry
9:30 AM PDT
 / 
12:30 PM EDT
Creating Spaces and Imagining Black Futures
Moderator
Annika Izora
Headshot of Shakeil Greeley
Shakeil Greeley
Headshot of Oriel Davis Lyons
Oriel Davis Lyons
Headshot of Rebecca Booker
Rebecca Brooker
Headshot of Ari Melenciano
Ari Melenciano
Headshot of Naj Austin
Naj Austin
10:30 AM PDT
 / 
1:30 PM EDT
Recruiting as the Limitation and Expansion of Diversity
Moderator
Raja Schaar
Niani Tolbert
Headshot of Keni Thacker
Keni Thacker
Madison Butler
Cherise Bernard
Angela Yeh
11:35 AM PDT
 / 
2:35 PM EDT
Friction Within the Intersection and Spectrum of Blackness
Headshot of Azeez Alli
Moderator
Azeez Alli
Vanessa Newman
Michael
Headshot of Amir Khadar
Amir Khadar
Kaia Charles
12:35 PM PDT
 / 
3:35 PM EDT
Designing and Organizing for Black Liberation
Headshot of Mitzi Okou
Moderator
Mitzi Okou
Headshot of Forest Young
Forest Young
Omari Souza
Headshot of Ovetta Sampson
Ovetta Sampson
Headshot of Azeez Alli
Azeez Alli
Headshot of Nancy Douyon
Nancy Douyon
1:35 PM PDT
 / 
4:35 PM EDT
Closing Remarks
1:45 PM PDT
 / 
4:45 PM EDT
After Party

Our Sponsors

Logo for our sponsor: Big SpaceshipLogo for our sponsor: GoogleLogo for our sponsor: Ideo.orgLogo for our sponsor: JoanLogo for our sponsor: MailchimpLogo for our sponsor: SomethingLogo for our sponsor: Spotify DesignLogo for our sponsor: SylvainLogo for our sponsor: ThesisLogo for our sponsor: Wieden + KennedyLogo for our sponsor: YouTube
Did we mention that it was free?
Register