Where are the Black Designers? is a volunteer-run, nonprofit design advocacy organization.

Community

Building community is at the heart of WATBD. Join our ever-growing Slack community with 1,500+ Black creatives.

Join Our CommunityRead Code of Conduct

Job Opportunities

Find your next gig or share an opportunity to our large network of talented designers.

Find A JobPost A Job Opportunity

Media

Check out our growing library of WATBD panels, talks, and discussions.

Explore Our Media

That's a wrap!

Thank you to everyone who attended our 2021 virtual conference. If you missed anything, we're hosting recordings on YouTube.

2021 Virtual Conference
Sat – 6/26
Saturday – June 26, 2021
Sun – 6/27
Sunday – June 27, 2021
9:00 AM PDT
 / 
12:00 PM EDT
9:30 AM PDT
 / 
12:30 PM EDT
Navigating Different Design Professions and Levels as a Black Designer
Moderator
Omari Souza
Kevin Bethune
Timothy Bardlavens
Headshot of Zariah Cameron
Zariah Cameron
Raja Schaar
Headshot of Gabrielle Smith
Gabrielle Smith
10:30 AM PDT
 / 
1:30 PM EDT
Violent vs. Non-violent Allyship
Headshot of Ritesh Gupta
Moderator
Ritesh Gupta
Shabnam Kashani
Headshot of Jessica Oddi
Jessica Oddi
Headshot of Aaron Draplin
Aaron Draplin
Headshot of Juan Villanueva
Juan Villanueva
Heather Lee Nguyen
11:35 AM PDT
 / 
2:35 PM EDT
Breathing Room
Sola Biu
Jason Mamaril
12:05 PM PDT
 / 
3:05 PM EDT
AFROTECTOPIA
Headshot of Ari Melenciano
Ari Melenciano
12:35 PM PDT
 / 
3:35 PM EDT
Believing in and Perpetuating Black Stories and Black Narratives
Headshot of Mitzi Okou
Moderator
Mitzi Okou
Temi Coker
Julia Bond
Angelica McKinley
Quincy Thomas
Schessa Garbutt
9:00 AM PDT
 / 
12:00 PM EDT
Opening Keynote
Maurice Cherry
9:30 AM PDT
 / 
12:30 PM EDT
Creating Spaces and Imagining Black Futures
Moderator
Annika Izora
Headshot of Shakeil Greeley
Shakeil Greeley
Headshot of Oriel Davis Lyons
Oriel Davis Lyons
Headshot of Rebecca Booker
Rebecca Brooker
Headshot of Ari Melenciano
Ari Melenciano
Headshot of Naj Austin
Naj Austin
10:30 AM PDT
 / 
1:30 PM EDT
Recruiting as the Limitation and Expansion of Diversity
Moderator
Raja Schaar
Niani Tolbert
Headshot of Keni Thacker
Keni Thacker
Madison Butler
Cherise Bernard
Angela Yeh
11:35 AM PDT
 / 
2:35 PM EDT
Friction Within the Intersection and Spectrum of Blackness
Headshot of Azeez Alli
Moderator
Azeez Alli
Vanessa Newman
Michael
Headshot of Amir Khadar
Amir Khadar
Kaia Charles
12:35 PM PDT
 / 
3:35 PM EDT
Designing and Organizing for Black Liberation
Headshot of Mitzi Okou
Moderator
Mitzi Okou
Headshot of Forest Young
Forest Young
Omari Souza
Headshot of Ovetta Sampson
Ovetta Sampson
Headshot of Azeez Alli
Azeez Alli
Headshot of Nancy Douyon
Nancy Douyon
1:35 PM PDT
 / 
4:35 PM EDT
Closing Remarks
Headshot of Mitzi Okou
Boss Lady
Mitzi Okou
1:45 PM PDT
 / 
4:45 PM EDT

Our Sponsors

Logo for our sponsor: Big SpaceshipLogo for our sponsor: GoogleLogo for our sponsor: Ideo.orgLogo for our sponsor: JoanLogo for our sponsor: MailchimpLogo for our sponsor: SomethingLogo for our sponsor: Spotify DesignLogo for our sponsor: SylvainLogo for our sponsor: ThesisLogo for our sponsor: Wieden + KennedyLogo for our sponsor: YouTube
WATBD? 2021 Conference ✨
Learn More →